ISLE OF ANGLESEY COUNTY COUNCIL	
MEETING:	County Council
DATE:	12 December 2017
TITLE OF REPORT :	To Appoint Two Community Councillors to the Standards Committee
REPORT BY :	Head of Function (Council Business) / Monitoring Officer
CONTACT OFFICER:	Lynn Ball Head of Function (Council Business) / Monitoring Officer bxcs@anglesey.gov.uk 01248 752586
PURPOSE OF REPORT :	To Ratify the Nominations of the Community Councils' Representatives to the Standards Committee

BACKGROUND

- 1. Under Part III of the Local Government Act 2000 (as amended by the Local Government Act 2006) the Council must have a Standards Committee consisting of no more than 9 members, the majority of whom must be independent members of the public.
- 2. The Standards Committee currently consists of 5 independent members (including one casual vacancy), 2 community councillors (both seats being vacant) and two county councillors (who are appointed annually by the Council.
- 3. Community council members must be collectively nominated by the community councils and their appointment ratified by Council.

COMMUNITY COUNCILLOR VACANCIES

- 4. The Standards Committee includes two community councillors, who participate in the general business of the Committee, but deal with referrals from the Public Services Ombudsman for Wales, and applications for dispensations, only when those matters relate to community councillors.
- 5. There is a requirement for the community council members to be collectively nominated by all the community councils after every local government election (or if either should cease to be a community councillor). Community council members are eligible for reappointment to the Standards Committee, subject to receiving a further collective nomination from the community councils.

CC-019937-MWY/411206 Page 1

- 6. On the 31st May 2017 the Monitoring Officer wrote to all community council clerks requesting nominations to be received by no later than 31st July 2017. By the closing date, seven nominations had been received and, on the 4th August 2017, a postal ballot was issued to all community councils requesting that each select a maximum of two candidates, returning the ballot paper to the Monitoring Officer by no later than 31st October 2017. By the deadline, 24 community councils had responded and 45 votes received. One community council responded but did not cast a vote and another cast only a single vote. The process followed was verified by the Chairman of the Council and the Chairman of the Standards Committee in a meeting on the 13th November 2017 and on the 15th November 2017 the Monitoring Officer informed all the community council clerks of the outcome of the ballot, confirming the two successful candidates were:-
 - Councillor lorwerth Roberts of Bryngwran Community Council and
 - Councillor Keith Roberts of Trearddur Community Council
- 7. In the circumstances, the County Council is now required to approve the appointment of these councillors as co-opted members of the Standards Committee until the next local government elections, or for as long as they remain community councillors; whichever occurs first.

RECOMMENDATION

To ratify the collective nominations of the community councils by appointing the following community councillors as co-opted members of the Standards Committee with immediate effect:-

- Councillor Iorwerth Roberts of Bryngwran Community Council and
- Councillor Keith Roberts of Trearddur Community Council

until the next local government elections, or until such time as the appointees are no longer community council members; whichever shall occur first.

CC-019937-MWY/411206 Page 2